« Back to the previous page

Cleveland Orchestra, Blossom Music Center, August 12, 1983

Soloists: Starker, Janos (cello), Altenburger, Christian (violin)
Other Performances:
Cuyahoga Falls, Blossom Music Center: August 14, 1983
Weber: Der Freischütz Overture | Brahms: Double Concert for Violin and Cello | Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6

When Brahms wrote his Double Concerto it was partly to effect a belated rapprochement with his old friend Joseph Joachim, after Brahms had taken the side of Joachim’s wife as their marriage ended. In this Cleveland Orchestra programme at the Blossom Festival, the Joachim-role was undertaken by the young (b.1957) German violinist Christian Altenburger, with the veteran Janos Starker taking the part originally written for the cellist Robert Haussmann.


* Please make sure you have Spotify installed